Calders Wharf, Saunders Ness Road, Isle of Dogs, London E14
On a site with stunning panoramic views over the Thames to the Old Royal Naval College and Greenwich Park, we worked closely with the architects, English Heritage (Historic England) and the Council’s heritage officer on a scheme to replace the current metal roofed community centre with 25 new dwellings, a new community centre and crèche. Particular attention was paid to scale and design, respecting the sensitive location inside the Island Gardens Conservation Area adjacent to the Grade II listed Island Gardens Park and the Grade II listed rotunda that serves as the northern entrance to the Greenwich Foot Tunnel. The site is also located on the edge of the Maritime Greenwich World Heritage Site Buffer Zone. Leaside Planning Limited is currently working on behalf of our client on an appeal against non-determination.
In 1896, as the construction of the Blackwall Tunnel was nearing completion, the LCC began to reconsider the question of further river crossings in east London. The two new schemes that were proposed were a road tunnel at Rotherhithe, and a pedestrian tunnel between Greenwich and the Isle of Dogs to replace the existing privately owned toll-ferry. The idea of an improved link between Greenwich and the Isle of Dogs was not a new one; as early as 1811 there had been an abortive proposal for a tunnel, and in 1877 an Act was passed empowering a private company to build such a subway. By June 1896 the LCC had accepted plans by Alexander Binnie (the LCC Engineer) for a cast-iron tunnel connecting Island Gardens with Greenwich and in February 1899, after some delays in costing the project, the LCC finally accepted the tender of £109,500 from J. Cochrane & Son, of Victoria Street.
Picture Credits: Hayes Davidson